Centre for Earth Sciences and Environment Universiti Kebangsaan, Malaysia

Dr. Fredolin Tangang

Chairman & Professor
Centre for Earth Sciences and Environment
Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia

Speech Title: Climate Change: Science, Impacts and Response Options


Professor Fredolin Tangang is a professor of climatology at the Centre of Earth Sciences and Environment, Faculty of Science and Technology, the National University of Malaysia. He is an Expert on climate change and climate variability. Prof Tangang obtained his PhD in 1997 from University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada, where he researched and developed a model to forecast the El Nino –Southern Oscillation (ENSO) phenomenon. Prof Tangang was the Vice-Chair of the Working Group I of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) for the Fifth Assessment Cycle (AR5; 2008 – 2015). Prof. Fredolin has a H-index of 22.

Currently he is also a fellow of the Academy of Sciences Malaysia and also a Visiting Professor at the Ramkhamhaeng University Center for Regional Climate Change and Renewable Energy (RU-CORE), Bangkok, Thailand. Prof Tangang also serves as a member of the Scientific Advisory Team (SAT) of the CORDEX, a programme under the World Climate Research Programme (WCRP). At the university level, he is currently the Chairman of the Centre of Earth Sciences and Environment. Prof Tangang current research focuses include climate change and climate variability over the Southeast Asia region. He is he leader of CORDEX Southeast Asia. Prof Tangang has published more than 70 publications in high impact international journals.